ATP Masters 1000: Tournaments, Records, Stats

What you need to know about #ATPMasters1000

ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a series in 1990, features the best men's tennis players at nine top tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 events earn 1,000 ATP Rankings points.

The series concluded with the Rolex Paris Masters, where Novak Djokovic triumphed for the fifth time. There were six different winners at the nine Masters 1000 tournaments in 2019, including Dominic Thiem, Fabio Fognini and Daniil Medvedev, all first-time champions at this level.

In August at the Coupe Rogers, Rafael Nadal clinched a record-extending 35th Masters 1000 title and also overtook Roger Federer at the top of the ATP Masters 1000 match wins leader list. Federer equalled Nadal's match wins mark in October with his quarter-final run in Shanghai, before Nadal went ahead by three victories with his run to the Paris semi-finals.

REIGNING CHAMPIONS... Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Daniil Medvedev all won two ATP Masters 1000 titles this season.

Tournament  City 2019 Dates Defending Champion
BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells 7-17 March Dominic Thiem (Recap)
Miami Open presented by Itau Miami 20-31 March Roger Federer (Recap)
Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters Monte-Carlo 14-21 April Fabio Fognini (Recap)
Mutua Madrid Open Madrid 5-12 May Novak Djokovic (Recap)
Internazionali BNL d'Italia Rome 12-19 May Rafael Nadal (Recap)
Coupe Rogers Montreal 5-11 August Rafael Nadal (Recap)
Western & Southern Open Cincinnati 11-18 August Daniil Medvedev (Recap)
Rolex Shanghai Masters Shanghai  6-13 October  Daniil Medvedev (Recap
Rolex Paris Masters Paris  28 Oct - 3 Nov  Novak Djokovic (Recap)

There have been 68 different champions crowned in 267 events since the Masters 1000 series began in 1990. Only six players have won more than 10 Masters 1000 titles. Rafael Nadal leads the way with 35 following his Montreal triumph.
 Player Titles
Rafael Nadal 35
Novak Djokovic 34
Roger Federer 28
Andre Agassi 17
Andy Murray 14
Pete Sampras 11

 Rafael Nadal leads Roger Federer in the battle among Masters 1000 match win leaders, with the Spaniard pulling ahead at the Rolex Paris Masters. Nadal had previously broken Federer's long-held record in August, with his 379th Masters 1000 victory at at this elite level during the 2019 Coupe Rogers, before Federer evened the race at the Rolex Shanghai Masters. Stan Wawrinka entered the Top 10 leaderboard after reaching the third round at the BNP Paribas Open earlier this year, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match record).

Player W-L Titles
Rafael Nadal 384-79  35 
Roger Federer 381-108 28
Novak Djokovic 355-79  34
Andy Murray 213-83  14 
Andre Agassi  209-73  17
Tomas Berdych 191-117
Pete Sampras 190-70 11
David Ferrer 189-122
Andy Roddick  157-70  5
Stan Wawrinka  152-106  1

GREATEST CHAMPIONS (since 1990)... Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

City Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (9) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Rafael Nadal (5) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

: Nine players have won their first Masters 1000 title over the past 23 series events:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)
Daniil Medvedev (2019 Cincinnati)

You May Also Like: Fognini Continues First-Time Masters 1000 Champion Trend In Monte-Carlo

In the 78 ATP Masters 1000 events prior to 2017 Rome, six players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

During the stretch from 2008 Madrid through 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) combined to capture 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%).

More stories like this in: