BMW Open By FWU: What You Need To Know

All about the ATP Tour 250 tennis tournament in Munich, Germany

The BMW Open by FWU is the first of four German tournaments on the season's ATP Tour calendar, contested in Bavaria’s picturesque capital city of Munich. Past winners include former World No. 1's Roger Federer (2003) and Andy Murray (2015). Germans Michael Stich (1994) and Tommy Haas (2013) have also triumphed here.

World No. 3 Alexander Zverev will go for the three-peat at the 2019 edition of the ATP 250 event, and he will be joined in the field by three-time champion and fellow German Philipp Kohlschreiber, whom he defeated in last year's final.

Here's all you need to know about the Munich tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more. 

Established: 1990

Tournament Dates: 29 April - 5 May 2019 

Tournament Director: Patrik Kühnen

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 27 April at 11:00am

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday & Sunday at 11:00am
* Main draw: Monday - Friday at 11:00am, Saturday at 11:30am
* Doubles final: Sunday, 5 May at 11:00am
* Singles final: Sunday, 5 May not before 1:30pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 
TV Schedule

Venue: MTTC Iphitos
Main Court Seating: 3,800

Prize Money: €524,340 (Total Financial Commitment: €586,140) 

Tickets On Sale: Buy Now

Get Munich Tennis Tickets

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Philipp Kohlschreiber (3)
Most Titles, Doubles: Wojtek Fibak (3)
Oldest Champion: Tommy Haas, 35, in 2013
Youngest Champion: Guillermo Perez-Roldan, 17, in 1987
Lowest-Ranked Champion (since 1979): No. 111 Martin Klizan in 2014
Most Match Wins (since 1974): Philipp Kohlschreiber (33)

2018 Finals
Singles: [1] Alexander Zverev (GER) d [6] Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER) 63 63   Read & Watch
Doubles: [2] Ivan Dodig (CRO) / Rajeev Ram (USA) d [3] Nikola Mektic (CRO) / Alexander Peya (AUT) 63 75  Read More

You May Also Like: Murray Captures First Clay Crown In Munich

Hashtag: #BMWOpenbyFWU
Facebook: @bmwopenbyfwu 
Twitter: @BMWOpenbyFWU
Instagram: @bmw_open_by_fwu

Did You Know... The International Tennis Championships of Bavaria was first held in 1900, but the BMW Open by FWU was first staged at Munich’s Iphitos Tennis Club in 1974. 

More stories like this in: