Rio Open Presented By Claro: History, Draw, Schedule, Tickets & More

All about the ATP 500 tennis tournament in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The Rio Open presented by Claro, an ATP 500 event, is the crown jewel of ATP Tour’s ‘Golden Swing’ through Latin America. Established in 2014, Rafael Nadal won the inaugural edition of the clay-court tournament and celebrated his triumph with Brazilian legends Gustavo Kuerten and Ronaldo. The past two winners, Diego Schwartzman and Dominic Thiem, will feature at the 2019 edition. 

Here's all you need to know about Rio de Janeiro tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more. 

Established: 2014

Tournament Dates: 18-24 February 2019 

Tournament Director: Luiz Procopio Carvalho

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 16 February at 6pm, Rio Open Square

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday and Sunday at 4:00pm
* Main draw: Monday - Thursday at 4:30pm and 7:00pm, Friday at 3:00pm
* Doubles final: Saturday, 23 February, third match from 5:00pm
* Singles final: Sunday, 24 February at 5:00pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 

Rio tennis live coverage on SporTV 3
Monday, 18 February: 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday, 19 February: 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday, 20 February: 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday, 21 February: 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday, 22 February: 2:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday, 23 February: From 2:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday, 24 February: From 4:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Venue: Jockey Club Brasileiro
Main Court Seating: 6,200

Prize Money: US $1,786,690 (Total Financial Commitment: US $1,937,740) 

Tickets On Sale: 7 December 2018 - Buy Now

Get Tickets Now, <a href='/en/tournaments/buenos-aires/506/overview'>Argentina Open</a>

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: 5 players with 1 (Schwartzman, Thiem, Cuevas, Ferrer, Nadal)
Most Titles, Doubles: Juan Sebastian Cabal, Robert Farah (2)
Oldest Champion: David Ferrer, 32, in 2015
Youngest Champion: Dominic Thiem, 23, in 2017
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 45 Pablo Cuevas in 2016
Most Match Wins: Fabio Fognini (11) 

2018 Finals
Singles: [6] Diego Schwartzman (ARG) d [8] Fernando Verdasco (ESP) 62 63   Read & Watch
Doubles: [LL] David Marrero (ESP) / Fernando Verdasco (ESP) d Nikola Mektic (CRO) / Alexander Peya (AUT) 57 75 10-8  Read More

You May Also Like: Nadal Captures 62nd Title In Rio

Hashtag: #RioOpen
Facebook: @rioopenoficial
Twitter: @RioOpenOficial
Instagram: @rioopenoficial
YouTube: @RioOpenOficial

More stories like this in: